Let’s travel together.

BJP announced candidates for Rajya Sabha elections, Sushil Modi and Manjhi’s names are not there, see the complete list here

0 31

Rajya Sabha Election: Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has announced the names of its candidates for the upcoming Rajya Sabha elections 2024. RPN Singh and Sudhanshu Trivedi have been made candidates from Uttar Pradesh. Apart from this, the party has announced its candidates from Bihar, Chhattisgarh, Haryana, Karnataka, Uttarakhand and West Bengal.

BJP has declared Subhash Barala as the party candidate from Haryana, while BJP state president Mahendra Bhatt has been made the Rajya Sabha candidate from Uttarakhand. The party has also declared Bihar BJP Mahila Morcha President Dharamshila Gupta as its candidate and former aide of Nitish Kumar, Bhim Singh has also been made its candidate.

These leaders were also made candidates
Apart from this, Narayan Krishnasa Bhandge from Karnataka, Raja Devendra Pratap Singh from Chhattisgarh and Samani Bhattacharya from West Bengal have been made candidates. Whereas Chaudhary Tejveer Singh, Sadhna Singh, Amarpal Maurya, Sangeeta Balwant and Naveen Jain have been declared candidates from Uttar Pradesh.

Tickets cut for these leaders
According to Hindustan Times, BJP did not make former Deputy Chief Minister of Bihar Sushil Modi a candidate. Apart from this, the party has not given Rajya Sabha ticket to any Union Minister. At the same time, Jitan Ram Manjhi’s ticket has also been canceled. Union Minister Rajiv Chandrashekhar and outgoing MP from Uttarakhand Anil Baluni were also not made candidates. None of the names of the Union Ministers whose tenure is expiring are in the list. However, the party is still yet to declare the names of many candidates.

Voting on 27th February
Voting will be held on 56 Rajya Sabha seats in 15 states of the country on February 27. The Election Commission had issued a notification for this on Thursday (February 8). Nominations can be filed for Rajya Sabha till 15 February. Candidates can withdraw their names till 20th February.

TMC also announced candidates
Earlier, Trinamool Congress (TMC) had announced its 4 candidates for the Rajya Sabha elections. The party has nominated journalists Sagarika Ghosh, Nadimul Haq, Sushmita Dev and Mamta Bala Thakur from Matua community.

This year 68 members of Rajya Sabha are going to retire. Of these, the tenure of 3 MPs has been completed on January 27, while 65 more members are yet to retire. Out of these 65 members, 56 members will retire on 23 February. At the same time, the tenure of 7 Rajya Sabha MPs will be completed between 2-3 April and 2 members are to retire in May.

32 BJP MPs are retiring
The maximum number of retiring MPs are from BJP. This year, the tenure of 32 Rajya Sabha MPs of BJP is completing. After this is Congress, whose 11 MPs will retire. 4 MPs from TMC and 3 from BRS are included. Apart from this, two members each of JDU, BJD and RJD are retiring. One MP each from NCP, SP, Shiv Sena, TDP, YSRCP, SDF, CPI, CPIM and Kerala Congress will complete their tenure this year.

Also read- ‘AAP is the only party which BJP is afraid of’, Arvind Kejriwal lashed out at Center and Punjab Governor.

This post originally appeared on www.abplive.com

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.